A Blade So Black
A Blade So Black is the fantasy book I've been waiting for my whole life.--Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Hate U Give For fans of Marissa Meyer, L.L. McKinney's A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland......
$15.99
A Girl Named Mister
Mary Rudine, called Mister by almost everyone, has attended church and sung in the choir for as long as she can remember. But then she meets Trey. His long lashes and smooth words make her question everything, and one mistake...
$13.99
When No One Is Watching: A Thriller
An instant NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY BESTSELLER! I was knocked over by the momentum of an intense psychological thriller that doesn't let go until the final page. This is a terrific read. - Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author *Marie Claire's...
$19.99
Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK - LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD - "An instant American classic and almost certainly the keynote nonfiction book of the American century thus far."--Dwight Garner, The New York TimesThe Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author...
$32.00
Beasts of Prey
"Rich in magic and mythos, Beasts of Prey is a feast for all the senses." --Renée Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful "The hunt for your next YA fantasy book trilogy obsession has ended." --Entertainment Weekly In this blockbuster fantasy series, perfect...
$21.99
Akata Warrior (The Nsibidi Scripts)
The newest novel by the author of Akata Witch and the forthcoming Marvel comic book series about Shuri, Black Panther's sister! "The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!" --Laurie Halse Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Speak A year ago,...
$13.99
African Psycho
Its title recalls Bret Easton Ellis's infamous book, but while Ellis's narrator was a blank slate, African Psycho's protagonist is a quivering mass of lies, neuroses, and relentless internal chatter. Gregoire Nakobomayo, a petty criminal, has decided to kill his girlfriend Germaine....
$17.95
Broken Places & Outer Spaces: Finding Creativity in the Unexpected
A powerful journey from star athlete to sudden paralysis to creative awakening, award-winning science fiction writer Nnedi Okorafor shows that what we think are our limitations have the potential to become our greatest strengths. Nnedi Okorafor was never supposed to...
$19.99
Black Boy Joy: 17 Stories Celebrating Black Boyhood
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - FIVE STARRED REVIEWS Celebrate the joys of Black boyhood with stories from seventeen bestselling, critically acclaimed Black authors--including Jason Reynolds, Jerry Craft, and Kwame Mbalia! ★ Pick up Black Boy Joy for a heavy dose of...
$18.99
If You Come Softly
A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children's Literature Jacqueline Woodson Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's...
$9.99
Changing My Mind: Occasional Essays
[These essays] reflect a lively, unselfconscious, rigorous, erudite, and earnestly open mind that's busy refining its view of life, literature, and a great deal in between. --Los Angeles Times Split into five sections--Reading, Being, Seeing, Feeling, and Remembering--Changing My Mind finds Zadie...
$20.99
White Teeth
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - Set against London's racial and cultural tapestry, venturing across the former empire and into the past as it barrels toward the future, White Teeth revels in the ecstatic hodgepodge of modern life, flirting with disaster, confounding expectations, and embracing...
$27.99
Swing Time
"Smith's thrilling cultural insights never overshadow the wholeness of her characters, who are so keenly observed that one feels witness to their lives." --O, The Oprah Magazine "A sweeping meditation on art, race, and identity that may be [Smith's] most ambitious...
$18.99
NW
A 2012 National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist - One of The New York Times Book Review's 10 Best Books of 2012 - One of TIME's Top 10 Fiction Books of 2012 - One of The Wall Street Journal's Best 10 Fiction Books of 2012 - A New...
$19.99
The Heart of a Woman
In The Heart of a Woman, Maya Angelou leaves California with her son, Guy, to move to New York. There she enters the society and world of black artists and writers, reads her work at the Harlem Writers Guild, and begins...
$19.99
Intimations: Six Essays
"[Smith's] slim collection of essays captures this peculiar moment with startling clarity. . . . The personal and political intermingle for a powerful indictment of America's social systems." --TIME, The 100 Must-Read Books of 2020 "While quarantined amid the Covid-19...
$12.99
On Beauty
Winner of the 2006 Orange Prize for fiction, another bestselling masterwork from the celebrated author of Swing Time and White Teeth In this sharp, engaging satire, beauty's only skin-deep, but funny cuts to the bone. --Kirkus Reviews Having hit bestseller lists from the New...
$22.99
Grand Union: Stories
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal! A dazzling collection of short fiction Zadie Smith has established herself as one of the most iconic, critically respected, and popular writers of her generation. In her first short story collection, she combines her power...
$19.99
Feel Free: Essays
Winner of the 2018 National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism A New York Times Notable Book From Zadie Smith, one of the most beloved authors of her generation, a new collection of essays Since she burst spectacularly into view with her...
$20.99
Black Manhattan
In this classic work, first published in 1930, James Weldon Johnson, one of the leading lights of the Harlem Renaissance, combined the skills of the historian, social scientist, and the reporter to trace the New York black experience from the...
$19.95
Autograph Man
Alex-Li Tandem sells autographs. His business is to hunt for names on paper, collect them, sell them, and occasionally fake them--all to give the people what they want: a little piece of Fame. But what does Alex want? Only the...
$19.99
Busted in New York and Other Essays
A collection of essays that blend the personal and the social, from the celebrated literary critic and novelist In these twenty-five essays, Darryl Pinckney has given us a view of our recent racial history that blends the social and the...
$23.99
When Stars Rain Down
18-year-old Opal is a young Black woman working as a housekeeper in a small Southern town in the 1930s--and then the Klan descends. A moving story that confronts America's tragic past, When Stars Rain Down is both heartwarming and heart-wrenching. This summer...
$19.99
This Close to Okay
BOOK OF THE MONTH DECEMBER PICK * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING BOOK CLUB FEBRUARY PICK * MARIE CLAIRE BOOK CLUB MARCH PICK * MOST ANTICIPATED BY ELLE , TODAY (ACCORDING TO GOODREADS), THE MILLIONS , SHEREADS, AND REAL SIMPLE * RECOMMENDED BY REFINERY29, SHONDALAND, OPRAH DAILY, WASHINGTON POST, GLAMOUR , COSMOPOLITAN, ELECTRIC LITERATURE , BOOKRIOT, PARADE, HARPER'S BAZAAR , AND MORE  ...
$29.99
The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.
You have successfully subscribed!
This email has been registered